The Land of All Things Lewis

When I see birches bend to left and right…I like to think some boy's been swinging from them. -Robert Frost

Around the World in 80 Days

on 6 December, 2007

We just started reading this book. My oldest really wants to do some more fun activities, so I’m going to make a mini-unit study on it. Then we can turn it into a notebook to show at his next progress meeting.

We are using The Whole Story Series edition. I love these books.

Here are the ideas, so far. I would love some input and more suggestions please, please, please.

1. Make a compass (Take pictures, include captions, and make a perty page about it. I might include a lab sheet as well. Basically you list the supplies and such. Then you list what you think will happen. And, finally what really happened.)
2. Track the route on a map
3. Discuss Time Zones and do some kind of map when it comes up
4. Study any people that come up along the way. The Whole Story books have information in the margins about historical figures and such.
5. I reserved the older version of the movie from the library
6. Figure out the cost of the trip today and how long it will take. I was thinking perhaps we could use one of the trip planner things for tickets and such. This might be a bit much though.
7. Report on Jules Verne. Something like a picture on the top of the page and a few sentences about him on the bottom.
8. Here is a cool online travel journal at Global Trek travel journal.

9.  I got a reply from a fellow homeschool mom who will be using Around the World…, but her link isn’t quite right.  So, is what she is working on including the rules to whist.

Here are some more directions for Whist.


4 responses to “Around the World in 80 Days

  1. jhcckkm says:

    Hello….I ran across your site while looking at the tags……
    I am also planning to use the book for our Geography lessons in January.
    Right now, (at my site: http://www.jhcckkm.worpress.com), I have the rules for the game of Whist (that they are playing before he takes off on his trip). I am also planning on using a map to track his progress.
    I am still reading through the book in order to come up with other ideas…..if you leave a comment on my site, with your site info, when/if I come up with something else, I will let you know, too.
    Also, I would love to have other ideas that you come up with, as well.
    Thanks,
    Heidi

  2. Bie says:

    I was very fascinated by the character, Phileas Fogg. I also liked the romatic touch given to the character by the author. This is one racy story from start to finish.

    This books will take your imagination to extra ordinary journeys to fantastic places.

  3. Laura says:

    Hello, I just wanted to share with you that Michael Palin, of Monty Python, did a modern day version of this that is now on DVD. No, not the book, but rather a kind of documentary of him trying to travel around the world in 80 days without flying. My boys loved it. Pace,Laura

  4. shangrilewis says:

    Yes, we watched the Palin documentary a few years back. It caught my eye because we are big Monty Python fans. I should have mentioned it before. But, I guess I should go ahead and add it to the list.

    Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a comment