The Land of All Things Lewis

When I see birches bend to left and right…I like to think some boy's been swinging from them. -Robert Frost

Teriyaki Wraps

on 12 September, 2007

Last night we had teriyaki wraps. They were good and easy. I even had three leftovers for lunch and snacks today. I’m thinking I will make wraps from leftovers more often and that will save some money on frozen snacks foods.

For the Teriyaki part I cooked up some medium grain rice and let it cool a bit while I did the veggies. I just put a bag of frozen stirfry mix in a large non-stick skillet. It had brocolli, onion, pea pods, red peppers, water chestnuts and I can’t remember what else. We have a good pan so it takes no oil. After it was heated up I added some Teriyaki sauce. I let that cook for a few minutes. Then I added the rice and a bit more sauce to taste.

For the Coleslaw

A bag or two of Coleslaw mix. Make the dressing and then stir in the coleslaw. Let it sit for about an hour if you can to break it down a bit.

For dressing I squeeze one lemon or lime for each bag of mix. Then I add a couple of big spoonfulls of Vegenaise. Then 2 or 3 green onions which I cut on a bit of slant so it looks pretty. Cilantro that has been finely chopped. If you are serving this and what it pretty you can put whole leaves in or on it. But, I don’t like to wasted the stems, so I chop it up. A little salt and pepper and you have Coleslaw.

Put some of each in your favorite tortilla and a few slices of avocado and serve with some Hot chili sauce.

Make enough to have leftovers the next day or two. You can add some cubed tofu or chicken if you want to the veggies. For leftovers leaved out the avocado. If you want it warmed up leave out the coleslaw, too. Make sure to wrap some up after dinner so you won’t look in the fridge the next day and say, “Oh that’s too much work for lunch. I’ll just let it rot in the back of the fridge till I have to throw out the bowl.”

Leave a Reply

