The Land of All Things Lewis

When I see birches bend to left and right…I like to think some boy's been swinging from them. -Robert Frost

The Heart of Learning by Oak Meadow

on 11 September, 2007

I’m reading an slighter water logged version of this text. I thought I should share what I find. I’m finding as I drift farther into this journey that I’m attracted to so many different aspects of different styles. Oak Meadow is a Waldorf Inspired version of Homeschooling. This is one of the books for the younger years. It’s actually a parent guide.

Chapter 2 asks What is a child and then helps you figure out how to find that out. Pretty smart cookies I tell ya. They give you three ways. To find them all out you have to read the book, but I will share the one I think is the best. It’s to look into oneself. Not only remember what it was like to be a child, but really look at yourself and see what makes you just as human as the next person. Your feelings, thoughts, spirit.

I haven’t gotten much further yet..but I have to say this is of real value to all parents and those who work with children. We often get caught up in the end product. We believe children should just “get over it” because had to. We desire obedience the first time because we know we can do it. But, we forget what it’s like to be in those tiny little bodies who can’t keep up. We forget what it’s like to have so much energy we think we might actually explode. We forget what it’s like to have feelings which are so huge…so big …that when someone does something to us we actually believe it’s possible to die right then and there.

Children don’t know how hard life is yet. They don’t know about the pain yet. They haven’t been defeated yet. They haven’t been crushed into corners or told how worthless they are yet.

But, perhaps if we looked through our souls at our children and really felt what they felt we might stop and think before we make decisions about education, discipline, and all the other hard things parents have to deal with.

 

Leave a Reply

