The Land of All Things Lewis

When I see birches bend to left and right…I like to think some boy's been swinging from them. -Robert Frost

Bird by Bird

on 25 March, 2006

Some Instructions on Writing and Life
Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life

This is great. I am ashamed to say that I have never, ever, ever read anything by Anne Lamott. I could tell who she is by a picture, but I have never, ever, ever read anything by Anne Lamott.

Until now…

and I am devouring it.

This is my favorite quote so far. “Hey, I’ve got to drive up to the dump in Petaluma-wanna come along?” and you honestly can’t think of anything in the world you’d rather do.

No really…have you ever been to the dump in Petaluma? It’s amazing. I mean it…it’s me talking now, NOT Anne. I love that place..well actually it’s my husband that loves that place. You wouldn’t believe what you can find there..you wouldn’t believe the things they sell out of there shop. There is absolutely nothing better than reading a book and getting something you know 80% of the readers are just not going to get. They just won’t understand.

Back to the book… It’s been quite a while since I read in book in less than 2 days…so today I plan on finishing up this book. What a gem!

My lunch memory is of field trips. My mom would pack me a meatloaf sandwich with mayo and ketchup on white bread and she would wrap it in foil, so it stayed cold. (My kids don’t like meatloaf at all. My husband hates meatloaf.) She would wrap a soda in foil, so it would stay cool, too. I always got a soda for a field trip. I always got a huge lunch for a field trip. I can remember eating a meatloaf sandwich by the caves in Clarksville, TN. I can remember the fat white geese. I can’t remember the trail leading to the caves. I can remember the restaurant. Well, it was once a restaurant carved into the side of the cave opening. I used to dream about what type of people came down there in their Victorian dresses and went spelunking.

One response to “Bird by Bird

  1. TulipGirl says:

    My second son was in the hospital, in Ukraine, when I read that book.

    Anne Lamott is criticized for her less-than-small-o-orthodox faith. And that saddens me.

    Like Madeleine L’Engle, I’d never take my doctrine from Anne Lamott. But with both, God has used them to help me internalize lessons of faith and grace.

    My fave quote from that book is this one:
    http://www.tulipgirl.com/mt/archives/000604.html

Leave a Reply

