The Land of All Things Lewis

When I see birches bend to left and right…I like to think some boy's been swinging from them. -Robert Frost

Grace and Parenting

on 29 October, 2005

I’ve grown quite a lot since becoming a parenting. I can’t imagine who I would be without my three sons. I’ve been able to go back in time and remember exactly what it feels like to be a kid. Exactly what it feels like to do my best, figure out how to ride a bike, tie my shoes for the first time. Unfortunately I’ve relived how it feels to be yelled at and much worse. I think a lot of us are missing Grace in our lives. It doesn’t mean we let our children rule over us and do what they like. But, it means we extend our Grace.

GRACE

As a Christian I’m finding how important Grace is in our lives. If God can extend his perfect Grace to me then why can’t I extend it to my children. Why shouldn’t I spend the extra time, attention and energy to look into my child’s eyes, heart and mind to see why they are having a hard time. Why are they reacting that way? What can I do to help them be a better person? What can I do to help them grow into Godly men who take care of others around them?

What is grace to you? Can you recall a day when your child reached out there hand to you and extended you Grace and Mercy? Because if you can’t you might look at what you are extended to your children in your everyday walk. What are giving to them, so that they may grow and blossom into caring, respectful adults? Do you expect them to have good manners and then you have none yourself?

Biblical Parenting
Biblical Parenting

kids are worth it! Revised Edition: Giving Your Child the Gift of Inner Discipline
kids are worth it! Revised Edition: Giving Your Child the Gift of Inner Discipline

Hints on Child Training
Hints on Child Training

Gentle Christian Mothers Online Community

Leave a Reply

