The Land of All Things Lewis

When I see birches bend to left and right…I like to think some boy's been swinging from them. -Robert Frost

The Well Educated Mind

on 13 October, 2005

The Well-Educated Mind: A Guide to the Classical Education You Never Had
The Well-Educated Mind: A Guide to the Classical Education You Never Had

I’m a college break taker. I hate it when people say I dropped out. Because I didn’t..I just took a break. I plan to go back someday. Until then I’m playing catch up. I hope when I get there I’ll be able to use my life experience and the self-knowledge I gained to finish up my formal education. I’m really happy that I did take that break. I’m not the same person I was and there is no way I would be happy as an Attorney. I used to think about it a lot when I had my first child. Three sons later I just can’t imagine who I could have been. I can’t imagine that I would have gotten this far in life without their touch. With each pregnancy and birth I become a more sensitive woman. Through my walk as a mother I have realized all that is important to me. Before my family I didn’t even know who I was.

Friday, October 14, 2005
I forgot to pay the gas bill today.
Pg 43 on the start of the first paragraph…Underline in your book. If it bothers you I really, really love to…(dot, dot, dot)when I write. It’s my way of saying hmmmmmm.

That has got to be the best advice I ever got. I mean it. I was in High School before a teacher gave me permission to write in a book. Please buy a paperback..used if you can’t imagine ruining a new book. Goodness knows the person before you couldn’t allow themselves to mark it up. If I can’t figure out a word I underline it and write the definition in the margin. It really sticks in my brain that way. Even my 8 year old knows to check merriam-webster.com.

One response to “The Well Educated Mind

  1. I’m on a break from college too. I’m not sure I’ll ever go back with the goal of getting a degree. I’d love to be close to a *good* liberal arts college, just to take classes. Education of the mind and obtaining a degree make for two different experiences. My first college experience was definitely focused on obtaining a degree. . . so I could “get a good job.”

    DH was the one who told me I could write in books. I’m still working on it, but I can certainly underline. I love to underline in books!

Leave a Reply

