The Land of All Things Lewis

When I see birches bend to left and right…I like to think some boy's been swinging from them. -Robert Frost

The Right Word in the Right Place at the Right Time by William Safire

on 13 October, 2005


The Right Word in the Right Place at the Right Time: Wit and Wisdom from the Popular “On Language” Column in The New York Times, Vol. 2

I had my time off for the week. Well, in case you are worried I have time off whenever I need it. On Wednesdays my boys go to their Aunts for Art lessons and then off to Awanas. I admit I often spend time going to the library and eating food all by myself.

Last night I had fast food. I DID, I DID! Then I picked up this book from the library. I’ve just read the flap and the first page so far. BTW, I always read the first page when I pick up a book. If they can’t catch me in the first page or two then I put it back. I’ll update some more later when I get the chance to read it.

3 responses to “The Right Word in the Right Place at the Right Time by William Safire

  1. So are you going to tell us what kind of fast food you ate? I would like to indulge every once in a while, but I have so few choices. We usually end up at a local sandwich shop or Subway and get veggie wraps/sandwiches.

  2. You don’t want to know. It was NOT a plant based meal. I hope I didn’t loose your admiration, I guess all the stress is getting to me lately.

    Normally, I go to Subway for the veggie subs, taco bell, veggie burgers at Burger King. The teriyaki place will make me veggies or teriyaka tofu if I just ask. They are super sweet about it. It’s not on the menu, but they always have this long talk with me about it.

  3. We have a new Chinese buffet opening “soon.” I can’t wait. I guess I need to do some research to see what does/doesn’t have eggs, though. It looks like it’s going to be really big, so I’m very excited.

    Oh, and no way did I lose any admiration for you!! … over a meal? I ate meat all through my last three pregnancies, even though we had been vegan. I would probably eat meat, at least some, if it was hunted, wild, by DH, no hormones, etc. Of course, I’m not running out to buy wild, hormone-free meat, but you know what I mean. (Right?)

    We do eat seafood (some). It’s too expensive, if not impossible, to eat completely vegan in the South. I have no where to buy stuff in our small town.

    Sorry all the stress is getting to you! You are still in my prayers!

Leave a Reply

