The Land of All Things Lewis

When I see birches bend to left and right…I like to think some boy's been swinging from them. -Robert Frost

Poetry for Young Children Series

on 13 October, 2005

My oldest is an 8 year old boy. He will turn 9 in January. I can’t believe how big he has gotten. I’m a rather small lady and he is almost as tall as me already. If I get cold I can wear his sweatshirt to get warm. He attended Preschool, K and half of 1st grade before we moved back to the Pacific Northwest. He took a few months to deschool and played a lot of Ages of Empires and Zoombinis. After having a really relaxed first year of homeschooling he claimed boredom. We have slowly added more and more to our day as the months go by. He thrives on full days and devours books. I’m so happy to have passed on the reading bug to at least one child. My 5 year old son is learning to read and can’t wait to fill up his head with books.

This month we are adding Daily Poetry Readings. We found this series at our wonderful library.

Robert Louis Stevenson
Poetry for Young People: Robert Louis Stevenson

I really like the introductions they give for the authors in the beginning of each book. I’m planning on making a copy to put in our language notebooks, as well as adding the picture of Robert Louis Stevenson to our timeline.

Edward Lear
Poetry for Young People: Edward Lear

Animal Poems
Poetry for Young People: Animal Poems

Rudyard Kipling
Poetry for Young People: Rudyard Kipling

William Shakespeare
Poetry for Young People: William Shakespeare

2 responses to “Poetry for Young Children Series

  1. This looks like a great poetry series that our girls would enjoy!

    I just noticed I’m a woman you adore. I’m seriously very honored!

    ::hugs::

    I admire you too!

  2. We are really enjoying it. All the books have different illustrations and they are gorgous.

    Hugs back at ya!

Leave a Reply

